A Dog’s Nightmare

23 Apr

I’ve had a Mac for over a year now, and ever since I brought it home and explored the list of applications that accompanied my purchase, I have been aware of the existence of iMovie. But acknowledging it’s presence is only one of those things, by actually acknowledging it’s presence and taking time to understand it, is another.

iMovie in short, is a movie editing application that is part of the iLifeĀ suite of digital lifestyle applications that allows Apple Macintosh users to create movies from a number of different sources including digital video cameras, DV-encoded files, and pictures.

So finally a year on into owning my Mac, I decided to try my hand at something new this week!

It is nothing fancy, but the experience has taught me to edit video clips, insert texts, create a proper entrance and exit to the video, and to include background music for the video. Prior to this, I was totally clueless on video making and how iMovie worked. In addition, as I had wanted to be a little more ‘experimental’ and to learn independently through ‘trial and error’, I ignored the introductory tutorial that had appeared as I opened the application for the first time. This decision no doubt, caused me three times the amount of time a person who had watched the tutorial would take, to edit a clip of this size.

The process taken was worth it though, as I can now say that:

I’m an iMovie survivor!

The video that I’m about to screen is of Sandy, my 8 year old English Cocker Spaniel, having a nightmare. The clip is an impromptu one that I had taken some time ago while I was studying at my dining table and she was sleeping not too far off. The quality of the video isn’t that clear though, as my cellphone was the only gadget within reach beside my laptop, and I wasn’t able to get to my bedroom without interrupting her sleep.

Here goes…

Leave a Reply

